Friday, July 19

Ion Izagirre prevails in the 12th stage of the Tour de France | Sports

Ion Izagirre won stage 12 of the Tour de France and scored the second Spanish victory of this edition. Cyclist Cofidis prevailed solo after Mathieu van der Poel escaped less than 50 kilometers from the finish. Izagirre caught up with the Dutchman shortly after and left him behind to lead the final 30km of the course between Roanne and Belleville-en-Beaujolai. Thibaut Pinot led the chasing group, but was unable to close the gap to the Spaniard, who crossed the line with a comfortable lead of over a minute.

Izagirre became the second Spaniard to win a stage on this edition of the Tour, after Pello Bilbao won on day 10 and ended a five-year streak without Spanish wins at the French round. Jonas Vingegaard and the yellow jersey group crossed the finish line 4 minutes behind the Spanish rider.

Phase classification:

Position Runner Equipment Time
1 Ion Izagirre cofidis 15:51:42
2 Mathieu Burgaudeau Total energies +58s
3 Matthew Jorgenson Movistar team +58s
4 Tiesj Benoot Jumbo-Visma +1:06
5 Tobias Johannessen An X-PRO +1:11

Overall ranking:

Position Runner Equipment Time
1 Jonas Vingegard Jumbo-Visma 50:30:23
2 Tadej Pogacar United Arab Emirates Team Emirates +17s
3 Jai Hindley Bora-Hansgrohe +2:40
4 Carlos Rodriguez Ineos Grenadiers +4:22
5 Pejo Bilbao Victorious Bahrain +4:34

[Noticia de última hora. Habrá actualización en breve]

You can follow EL PAÍS Sports on Facebook AND Chirpingor sign up here to receive our weekly newsletter.